Mauritius Public Holidays
 2020 with calendar

Check the Mauritius public holidays before booking your flights. Why? They include traditional festivals to delight you. Don’t miss out on our cultural attractions!
I have explained their origin and meaning for you.
Traditional Hindu festivals:  Ganesh, Maha Shivaratree, Thaipoosam Cavadee...

It would be such a pity to travel all the way to our island and and not experience at least one festival!

cocktail on beach

Mauritius Public Holidays 2020  with Calendar

Mauritius public holidays 2020 calendar

List of Mauritius Public Holidays 2020

Wed 1 January - New Year’s Day                 
Thurs 2 January - New Year Holiday 
Sat 25 January - Chinese New Year (Spring Festival)
Sat 1 February - Abolition of Slavery           
Sat 8 February - Thaipoosam Cavadee
Fri 21 February - Maha Shivaratree (Hindu Pilgrimage)   
Thurs 12 March - National Day / Independence Day     
Wed 25 March – Ougadi or Ugaadi  (Telegu New Year)           
Friday 1 May - Labour Day                             
Sun 24 May - Eid-Ul-Fitr **  End of Ramadan       
Sat 15 August - Assumption Day                     
Sun 23 August - Ganesh Chaturthi (Hindu Festival)         
Mon 2 November - Arrival of Indentured Labourers
Sat 14 November - Divali  Festival of Lights       
Friday 25 December - Christmas  

  ** Eid-Ul-Fitr the Muslim Ramadan depends on the local sightings of the moon. 

List of Mauritius Public Holidays 2021

Fri 1 January - New Year’s Day                  
Sat 2 January - New Year Holiday 
Thurs 28 January - Thaipoosam Cavadee 
Mon 1 February - Abolition of Slavery 
Fri 12 February - Chinese New Year (Spring Festival) 
Thurs 11 March - Maha Shivaratree (Hindu Pilgrimage)    
Fri 12 March - National Day / Independence Day      
Tue 13 April - Ougadi or Ugaadi  (Telegu New Year)           
Sat 1 May - Labour Day                     
Thur 13 May Likely - Eid-Ul-Fitr **  End of Ramadan       
Sun 15 August - Assumption Day                    
Sat 11 Sep - Ganesh Chaturthi (Hindu Festival)        
Tue 2 November - Arrival of Indentured Labourers 
Thurs 4 November - Divali  Festival of Lights       
Sat 25 December - Christmas Day 

  ** Eid-Ul-Fitr the Muslim Ramadan depends on the local sightings of the moon. 

How many public holidays are there in Mauritius?

15 public holidays and counting ...
It must have been a difficult decision for the government to select the number of public holidays to allocate to each religion. Who wants to offend anyone’s religious belief? After lengthy debates the number was reduced from 21 to 15! 

Add cyclones visiting us without being invited and the number of holidays gets longer and longer.

Celebrate with us ...

Festival celebrations

Important note:

Seven holidays are fixed holidays. Others change from year to year. It depends on the lunar calendar. 

The Tamil New Year and the Thaipoosam Cavadee  celebrations alternate every second year. Our government tries very hard to please all religious faiths. Don’t worry the festivals will still take place.

We have one cultural festival celebrated all over the island which is not a public holiday.
Holi the Festival of Colours will start on Monday 9th March and will end on Tuesday 10st March  in the evening.

Choose a Mauritian public holiday. Join us and celebrate our rich heritage and 'joie de vivre'.


 Related Pages

Home > Travel to Mauritius > Mauritius Public Holidays


I'd love to hear from you - add your questions or comments below!