Mauritius Public Holidays
2019 - 2020

Have a look at the  list of Mauritius public holidays and calendar I have prepared for you before booking your flights. Why? They include unique traditional festivals that will delight you. 

It would be such a pity to travel all the way to our island and miss our cultural attractions!

cocktail on beach


Mauritius Public Holidays - 2019 Calendar

Mauritius public holidays 2019

List of Mauritius public holidays 2019

  1.   Tues 1 January - New Year’s Day                  
  2.   Wed 2 January - New Year Holiday                
  3.   Mon 21 January - Thaipoosam Cavadee
  4.   Fri 1 February - Abolition of Slavery            
  5.   Tue 5 February - Chinese New Year (Spring Festival)    
  6.   Mon 4 Mar - Maha Shivaratree (Hindu Pilgrimage)  
  7.   Tue 12 March - National Day / Independence Day      
  8.   Sat 6 Apr - Ougadi  (Telegu New Year)            
  9.   Wed 1 May - Labour Day                             
  10.   Wed 5 June - Eid-Ul-Fitr **  End of Ramadan       
  11.   Tue 3 September - Ganesh Chaturthi (Hindu Festival)         
  12.    Sun 27 Oct - Divali  Festival of Lights  
  13.    Fri 1 Nov - All Saints Day 
  14.    Sat 2 November - Arrival of Indentured Labourers 
  15.    Wed 25 December - Christmas  

  ** Eid-Ul-Fitr the Muslim Ramadan depends on the local sightings of the moon. 

Mauritius Public Holidays 2020 - Calendar

Mauritius public holidays 2020 calendar

List of Mauritius Public Holidays 2020

Wed 1 January - New Year’s Day                 
Thurs 2 January - New Year Holiday 
Sat 25 January - Chinese New Year (Spring Festival)
Sat 1 February - Abolition of Slavery           
Sat 8 February - Thaipoosam Cavadee
Fri 21 February - Maha Shivaratree (Hindu Pilgrimage)   
Thurs 12 March - National Day / Independence Day     
Wed 25 March – Ougadi or Ugaadi  (Telegu New Year)           
Friday 1 May - Labour Day                             
Sun 24 May - Eid-Ul-Fitr **  End of Ramadan       
Sat 15 August - Assumption Day                     
Sun 23 August - Ganesh Chaturthi (Hindu Festival)         
Mon 2 November - Arrival of Indentured Labourers
Sat 14 November - Divali  Festival of Lights       
Friday 25 December - Christmas  

  ** Eid-Ul-Fitr the Muslim Ramadan depends on the local sightings of the moon. 

15 public holidays and counting …

It must have been a difficult decision for the government to select the number of public holidays to allocate to each religion. Who wants to offend anyone’s religious belief? After lengthy debates the number was reduced from 21 to 15! 

Add cyclones visiting us without being invited and the number of holidays gets longer and longer.

Celebrate with us ...

Festival celebrations

Important note:

Seven holidays are fixed holidays. Others change from year to year. It depends on the lunar calendar. 

The Tamil New Year and the Thaipoosam Cavadee  celebrations alternate every second year. Our government tries very hard to please all religious faiths. Don’t worry the festivals will still take place.

We have one cultural festival celebrated all over the island which is not a public holiday.
Holi the Festival of Colours will start on Wednesday 20th March and will end on 21st March 2019 in the evening.
In 2020 Holi will start on Monday 9th March and end on Tuesday 10th March.

Choose a Mauritian public holiday. Join us and celebrate our rich heritage and 'joie de vivre'.


 Related Pages

Home > Travel to Mauritius > Mauritius Public Holidays


 What's on your mind?

I'd love to hear from you - add your questions or comments below!